Office of o NO. 21 FY 20/21
The Governor DATE December 23, 2020

AN ORDER ADDRESSING THE CRITICAL NEED
FOR CERTIFIED NURSING ASSISTANTS DURING THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC

WHEREAS, I proclaimed a state of emergency on March 15, 2020 and renewed states of
emergency on April 14, 2020, May 13, 2020, June 9, 2020, July 8, 2020, August 5, 1020,
September 2, 2020, September 30, 2020, October 2, 2020, November 24, 2020, and December 22,
2020 to authorize the use of emergency powers in order to expand and expedite the State's response
to the serious health and safety risks of the highly contagious COVID-19 virus; and

WHEREAS, nursing facilities and other congregate settings have been hit disproportionately hard
by the COVID-19 pandemic, exacerbating staffing shortages to emergency levels in several
facilities experiencing outbreaks, with Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) in particularly short
supply; and

WHEREAS, Board of Nursing regulations require a student seeking to be certified as a CNA to
complete 70 hours of supervised clinical practice prior to sitting for the Maine Certified Nursing
Assistant competency test; and

WHEREAS, while schools and adult education training programs have adapted training delivery
methods to allow for social distancing and safety protocols, the educational programs are not
placing students in facilities during the pandemic, which causes many students to be unable to
complete the traditional clinical hours required before they may qualify to sit for the Maine
Certified Nursing Assistant competency test; and

WHEREAS, in order to assist with meeting urgent staffing needs, expedite the entry of students
into the labor market and optimally prepare CNA candidates to be employed in the field, Board of
Nursing rules require modification to allow candidates to sit for the exam prior to completing their
clinical hours; and

WHEREAS, the indefinite nature of the State of Emergency and the procedural constraints that
govern emergency rulemaking make it impractical to use that process to deliver the necessary
relief;



WHEREAS, clinical hours could be completed after sitting for the test, on the job, and under
appropriate supervision before candidates are added to the CNA registry; and

WHEREAS, the Governor's emergency powers expressly include the authority to adjust
timeframes and certain deadlines imposed by law when necessary to mitigate the effect of the
emergency pursuant to 37-B M.R.S. § 742(1)(C)(13)(a), modify or suspend the requirements for
professional or occupational licensing or registration if swict compliance hinders coping with the
emergency pursuant to 37-B M.R.S. § 742(1)(C)(13)(c); and suspend the enforcement of statutes
or agency rules inconsistent with managing the emergency pursuant to 37-B M.R.S. §§
742(D)(C)(1) and 834;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Janet T. Mills, Governor of the State of Maine, pursuant to 37-B Ch.
13, including but not limited to the provisions cited above, do hereby Order the following:

I. ORDER
A. Notwithstanding any provisions to the contrary contained in the Board of Nursing
Regulations Relating To Training Programs And Delegation By Registered
Professional Nurses Of Selected Nursing Tasks To Certified Nursing Assistants, 02-
380 CMR c. 5(2)(A)(2):

a. Students who have completed 90 hours of classroom instruction and 20
hours of skills laboratory may sit for the Maine Certified Nursing Assistant
competency test before they acquire all of the required 70 supervised
clinical practice hours through employment at medical facilities.

b. Students who pass the Maine Certified Nursing Assistant competency test
may then complete the required 70 hours of correlated, supervised clinical
practice through employment at facilities in order to complete their
certification requirements. These students must be supervised by a clinical
instructor or a registered professional nurse on staff at the facility.

c. Any clinical practice hours obtained through on-the-job training must be
documented and certified by the medical facility’s Director of Nursing to
the student’s educational program in a manner specified by the DHHS
Division of Licensing prior to an individual being added to the CNA

registry.
II. EFFECTIVE DATE

This Order is effective December 23, 2020 and shall remain in effect until rescinded or until 30
days after the State of Civil Emergency to Protect Public Health is terminated, whichever occurs
first.

~Fetnet T. Mills
" Governor



